HOME > Tutorials

Minecraft Color Codes for Commands

minecraft color codes
2.6
(5)

Use Minecraft color codes to get colored world names, colored server names, colored signs or even colored messages in command blocks. Everything looks cooler in color, right?

How to use color codes

Color codes with §

The selection sign (§) plus a number or letter defines a color code. You will find them in the table below.

These color codes can be used in:

  • Colored Minecraft World Names (both Bedrock and Java)
    In Bedrock, just paste the color code. In Java, you need to use an external software like McEdit or NBTedit
  • Colored Signs (only in Bedrock Edition, for Minecraft Java use JSON formatting)
  • Colored Titles, Tellraw, Say via the respective command. (only in Bedrock Edition, for Minecraft Java use JSON formatting)
  • Colored Books
    Again in Minecraft Java, you need to use an external software like McEdit or NBTedit to paste the color code.

If you don’t find the § symbol in your keyboard, just copy it and paste!

Color Codes List

Color (Minecraft Name)COLOR CODE §MOTD CodeHEX (#)
Dark Red (dark_red)§4\u00A74AA0000
Red (red)§c\u00A7cFF5555
Gold (gold)§6\u00A76FFAA00
Yellow (yellow)§e\u00A7eFFFF55
Dark Green (dark_green)§2\u00A7200AA00
Green (green)§a\u00A7a55FF55
Aqua (aqua)§b\u00A7b55FFFF
Dark Aqua (dark_aqua)§3\u00A7300AAAA
Dark Blue (dark_blue)§1\u00A710000AA
Blue (blue)§9\u00A795555FF
Light Purple (light_purple)§d\u00A7dFF55FF
Dark Purple (dark_purple)§5\u00A75AA00AA
White (white)§f\u00A7fFFFFFF
Gray (gray)§7\u00A77AAAAAA
Dark Gray (dark_gray)§8\u00A78555555
Black (black)§0\u00A70000000

Formatting Codes

DescriptionChat CodeMOTD Code
Bold§l\u00A7l
Strikethrough§m\u00A7m
Underline§n\u00A7n
Italic§o\u00A7o
Reset both color and style§r\u00A7r

MOTD Formatting Codes

MOTD (Message Of The Day) is used for colored Minecraft Servers description in Minecraft Java.
Paste the color code in the motd entry in the server.properties file.

What are Minecraft color codes?

Color codes are a group of characters that give color to the text following them.

How do I make a new line in Minecraft?

In tellraw commands and books you can make a new line with \n

Did you enjoy this creation?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 2.6 / 5. Vote count: 5

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this creation.

As you liked this creation...

Follow me on social media!

I'm sorry you didn't like this creation

Let me improve!

Tell me how could I improve this creation?

Do you like Minecraft Maps?

Hey, I'm Cimap! I love to amaze thousands of Minecraft players with my creations. Don't miss them out!